dearblackie

A very offensive collection of helpful advice. When in doubt, write to dearblackie.

Tuesday, August 01, 2006

Enough already

Ok, a break from the snarky fun for a minute. What the hell is going on in this world? We seem to have two sets of humans. One that worships the gods of unchecked greed and violence and the other seems to be simply asleep, or as the song goes, 'comfortably numb'.

Even on the Internets people talk and posture not unlike the Sunday morning talking heads. But that's all they do. Nobody plans their vacation or time off around marching on Washington. Where are the people of courage? Where are the righteous warriors? Where are the peaceful assemblies of conscientious objectors? Where are the principalled voters? I fear it is going to take a terrible reckoning for them to surface.

I don't know what to do. I don't want to be comfortably numb. But there is so much war and violence that I just want to shrink away, turn of the tv, stop reading the Internets and get comfortably numb. Either that or I want to start a march on Washington. Who do these muthers in Washington think they are? Kings, that's who. They really believe they are entitled, some kind of weird fucked-up Calvanism or something.

Here is something interesting to me. The other day in the grocery store I was stuck inline at the checkout. I was about fourth in line while a woman at the front of the line was struggling with her inability to purchase certain items with her food stamp card and not enough cash to pay for them either. So as she was going through the exercize of taking an item at a time out of the total, the guy behind me was getting quite perturbed.

"I wish I had a food stamp card", he mumbled. I turned around to face him while he continued, "I work for my keep.".

At first I just shook my head and shrugged my shoulders and said nothing. But after a few minutes, I turned to him and said, "you know, why shouldn't people take advantage of the system? Our government steals billions from us every day."


"What do you mean?" he asked.
"Well, you said you work for your money, you pay taxes, right?"
"Yeah, and people like her live off of the money I pay in"
"Think about it" I said, "who is the bigger thief, the woman who takes advantage of a couple hundred dollars a month, or the billionaires that get even richer from this war and your tax dollars, while our economy goes to shit, this war is costing billions, whose worse?"


"I don't know, I just know I work and I don't eat for free"

So there you have it. Who are you the most angry at?

The war profiteering bastards that sit in congress and the white house, or the rest of us who let them get away with it? I mean, why shouldn't they steal from us, we let them. Why shouldn't they murder our young sons and daughters in this war, we let them, not only that we praise them for their patriotism.

What is to stop them?